Daeji Bulgogi – Korean Spicy Pork

Daeji Bulgogi

I will die from Cholesterol if I don’t stop eating pork belly, but what can I do? I love it! Here’s another one of my favorite ways to cook pork belly. Some of you may have seen my Babi Kecap picture in our last post, that is how much I love pork belly. Roasted, Braised, Pan fried? Ill eat them!

I’ve tried this spicy pork in Perth while I was still in there, I loved it and this is how I make my own Daeji Bulgogi.

Sliced Pork Belly

 

Korean Chilli Flakes, not so spicy.

Ingredients

1kg Pork Belly, Sliced. (Usually Korean groceries have these frozen)

1 Onion, Sliced.

1 Carrot, Julienned.

5cloves, of Garlic, Sliced.

5tbsp, Gochujang (Spicy Korean chilli paste, also from your Asian Groceries)

3tbsp, Sugar

3tbsp, Light Soya Sauce.

1.5tbsp, Sesame Oil

2.5tbsp, Korean Chilli Powder.

1tbsp, Salt.

1tspn, Powdered White Pepper.

Marinated Pork

Method

Marinade

  1. Grab a mixing bowl that is large enough to contain all the ingredients.
  2. Put in your Gochujang, Soy Sauce, Sugar, Chilli Powder, Salt and Pepper into the mixing bowl and mix to create an emulsion.
  3. Cut all of your ingredients and set aside.
  4. If your pork is cut into large size, then cut it into your desired size. Don’t make it too small, cause it shrinks once cooked.
  5. Place your pork and vegetables on top of the emulsion and mix thoroughly.
  6. Once mixed well, drizzle the sesame oil and mix it again.
  7. Let it sit in the marinade for at least 1-2hours. Cling Wrap it and stick it in the fridge.

Cooking

  1. Grab a pan heat it with low heat and put in a knob of butter.
  2. Once pan has reached its medium temperature, put in your marinated pork. Don’t go overboard with the amount, otherwise it won’t cook evenly.
  3. Flip it once in a while, cook it for 5-10 minutes. If your heat is too strong, then the pork will become dry and tough. I prefer my pork to be juicy, almost like a stew. When the pork is cooked under low heat, it starts to release its own juices and almost create its own sauce.
  4. Take it out and serve! Eat it with hot steamed rice or lettuce. Make sure, you eat it while its pipping hot!

Hope you enjoy this as much as I do! Give it a shot and tell me how it tastes like!

Cheers guys!

Comments
4 Responses to “Daeji Bulgogi – Korean Spicy Pork”
  1. Pierre says:

    Are we talking about Arirang here? Hehehe. Looking good Andry, Hmm I think my mum makes it with spring onion. Such a crisp clean photo, ah I’m jealous.

  2. stevvy says:

    andryy…..gw mau resep lo donk semuaaa !!!!! gw mau masak jg !!! bagii….makanan n resep…kekekekeke ;p
    males catet bokkk…

Leave a Reply

