Creme Spaghettini ala Kani

Creme Spaghettini Ala Kani

During my last trip back to Japan, it was a trip with a purpose. A purpose to expand the knowledge of cooking and eating. My sister took me to this Japanese Pasta restaurant located in Shibuya. Restaurant is quaint, underground and would become unnoticeable if you’re a tourist. The first word that came out of my sister’s vocal box was that, it was full on organic and it tastes amazing. I had my doubts, because nowadays, many restaurants have been going organic and many of them are pretentious.

I have been trying out many Japanese style Pasta dishes around the world and I do love them. Its different, it has more sauce floating around rather than sauce that is minimal that sticks to the pasta very well. Don’t get me wrong, I do love all kinds of pastas except the ones that has pre-made sauces and the pasta is drowned in it. Those things, I hate. For me, a pasta dish has to be light, not too creamy or powerful but also, it needs to have that kick that brings back memories of how good pastas taste.

Here’s my recipe in trying to replicate and give it my own twist.

Ingredients

Spaghettini Or Spaghetti Size 3

Liquid Whipping Cream

Dashi (I used liquid dashi, instead of powder form)

Bacon

Fresh Shitake Mushroom, Diced or Sliced (Add as many different types as you want, Enoki works really well)

Onion (Finely Diced)

1 Clove of Garlic

Salt and Pepper

Butter and Olive oil

Method

Once all of your ingredients are ready, boil your pasta in salted boiling water.

In a pot, heat your olive oil and sweat your onion and garlic under medium heat, salt and pepper to taste. Sweat it without any colours because we want to preserve the clean white sauce.

Once cooked, deglaze your pot with 5 Table spoons of Dashi and add your mushroom and bacon,ย  slowly poaching it in the stock. Once cooked, add your liquid whipping cream to the rest of the ingredients and let it reduce by a little bit. Its meant to be “soupy.”

Once the taste is correct to your liking, add a little bit of butter to the sauce and stir well until it gives the “gloss.” Add your cooked pasta stir well and serve. I would put Nori (Dried Seaweed) if it is available in your pantry.

Comments
2 Responses to “Creme Spaghettini ala Kani”
  1. When I saw the first photo above, I thought you were reviewing a fine diner!

    You got me interested coz I love these kinda of pasta recipes – not too much meat but using minimal and favourite ingredients – mushroom, garlic and onions! Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

