(Almost) Vegetarian Aubergine Burger

I’ve got to confess that, I am not a healthy person. Started my day today with instant packaged noodle and grabbed a burger from McDonald with a medium size Coke on my way home from work. For some reasons, I have an eggplant in my fridge. Weird. Got to be my mum who purchased it when she came here for her holiday.

Thinking of what I can do with this sad looking vegetable, then, I remembered I watched an episode of Gordon Ramsay making Aubergine Caviar and it looked so tasty. It looked very moist and its very intimidating for me just to see how it would taste like. I added my twist to his recipe by using chilli flakes, a touch of nutmeg and grated fresh Parmesan in the end. I have also guiltily added some jamons in the patty!

Ingredients
1 medium size Eggplant
1 Clove of Garlic (Sliced)
Nutmeg (Whole or Powdered)
Chilli Flakes
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 sprig of Rosemary
Fresh Parmesan
Salt & Pepper
Burger Buns

Directions
Preheat your oven to 200’C
Cut your Eggplant lengthwise and criss cross it with a sharp knife, about 1cm deep.
Stab your Eggplant with the Rosemary and wedge your sliced garlic in between the criss cross.
Sprinkle some nutmeg or grate fresh whole nutmeg on the Eggplant. Be easy on this, you don’t want it to overpower the Eggplant.
Drizzle some Extra Virgin Olive Oil on the Eggplant. Salt and Pepper to taste.

Put it on a baking tray and wrap it with aluminum foil and cook it for about 40 minutes.

Once cooked, spoon the Eggplant’s flesh using a spoon to a chopping board and roughly chop it until the consistency you want it to be have been achieved.
Once chopped, incorporate grated fresh Parmesan and fix the seasoning using salt & pepper if needed.

Plating up
Cut your Burger Buns in half and grill it and spread some butter. Spoon your Eggplant to the bottom half of the bread and put any kinds of toppings you like. I put some Jamons on mine!

Leave a Reply

